Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation

Malawi Government Resources

Government of Malawi: The Republic of Malawi has a parliamentary democracy. The executive is headed by the President and her cabinet. The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice and assisted by judges of the supreme court, high court and magistrates courts. The parliamentary is legislature presided over by the speaker and is composed of 193 Members of Parliament.  

Public Procurement Department: The Government of Malawi issues periodic tender notices for supplies and services in local and international publications 15 to 90 days before the bids are due. Detailed bid documents are normally obtained from a specific government ministry, department or agency for a non-refundable fee. Bids are often opened in the presence of bidders or their representatives. The Malawi Government Public Procurement Department occasionally publishes government tenders on its website.

Reserve Bank of Malawi: The Reserve Bank of Malawi (RBM) is the central bank and is responsible for monetary policy in addition to the supervision of commercial banks and other financial institutions. The RBM also produces quarterly reports on  monetary policy and marcroeconomic performance. The RBM maintains excellent economic and financial statistics on its website.

Malawi Stock Exchange: The Malawi Stock Exchange (MSE) is a relatively young stock market. It handles less than 20 companies. MSE has grown over the past 15 years with the privatization of government owned companies.

National Statistical Office: The National Statistics Office is the Government of Malawi's official statistics body.

Privatization Commission: The Privatization Commission was set up in the early 1990s to oversee the privatization of government owned companies. Over 65 government owned enterprises have since been privatized.

Copyright Society of Malawi: The Copyright Society of Malawi (COSOMA) oversees all copyright related issues in Malawi. COSOMA is one of the most organized and active copyright bodies in Southern Africa.